Thursday, January 25, 2007

Special programming at EWTN

I missed the papal vespers at St. Paul's-Outside-the-Walls (doh!), but this may be of interest to some of you:


IN CONCERT
EVENSONG AT KING’S COLLEGE (60:00)
King’s College Choir, Cambridge, England (Stephen Cloebury conducting) Evensong originated in the Roman Catholic Liturgy of the Hours as the seventh of the Office of Hours – Vespers. The psalms and canticles of Vesspers were first sung to Gregorian chan ts and developed later into harmonized choral settings. Selections include Psalm 50, the Magnificat, Nunc Dimittis, Salve Regin a, and Edward Bairstow’s "Lord, Thou Hast Been Our Refuge." Evensong originated in the Roman Catholic Liturgy of the Hours as t he seventh of the Office of Hours—Vespers. The psalms and canticles of Vespers were first sung to Gregorian chants and developed later into harmonized choral settings. In this program, you will hear setting of Psalm 50, the Magnificat, Nunc Dimittis, Salve Regina and the beautiful anthem, "Lord, Thou hast been our refuge" by Edward Bairstow. The Choir of King’s College, Cambridg e, England with Stephen Cloebury conducting.

Sunday January 28, 2007 1:30 PM Eastern Time
Sunday January 28, 2007 10:30 AM Pacific Time

Saturday February 3, 2007 3:00 AM Eastern Time
Saturday February 3, 2007 12:00 AM Pacific Time

No comments: